Danny McCance 11 Aug 2017 04:50pm

Movers and shakers

A round-up of this week's appointments, promotions, board moves and resignations


The Big Four firm has appointed Caroline Muir as Aberdeen head of tax, effective immediately.

Muir has almost 20 years of experience and was a tax director in the firm's Edinburgh office prior to her appointment. She rejoined Deloitte from Johnston Carmichael in 2013 after spending more than 10 years at Deloitte initially.

Muir is a member of the Chartered Institute of Taxation and the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Scotland.

Premier Oil

The oil and gas production company has appointed Mike Wheeler CBE as a non-executive director, effective immediately.

Wheeler, an ICAEW member, has many years' experience in senior roles across industries, including as KPMG's global managing partner financial advisory services and a member of KPMG's international executive board. He spent more than 30 years at the Big Four firm.

Wheeler has also held a number of non-executive roles, including as non-executive director and chairman of the audit committee at Citadel Securities Europe, non-executive director of Glitnir, and non-executive director and chairman of the audit committee of Sunseeker International. He was also an executive director at the UK Department of Health – for which he was awarded a CBE in 2014.

Premier oil also appointed Dave Blackwood CBE as a non-executive alongside Wheeler and a new chairman, Roy Franklin OBE, who will take over as non-executive chairman from 1 September. 

Proton Power Systems

Roman Kotlarzewski has been appointed as group finance director of the fuel cell and hybrid systems producer, effective immediately.

Kotlarzewski, a chartered accountant, has more than 30 years’ experience in finance and accounting, and will join the board of Proton as director. He is owner of ConFin Interim Management, having previously spent almost 10 years as finance director at Manning Global AG. He has held many other senior roles, including as director of Globe Business College Munich, as CFO at Carfrogger and as director of finance at Goetzpartners Corporate Finance.

Proton has also announced changes to its board following Ian Peden's decision to step down as chairman and company secretary, in favour of staying on as a non-executive director. Another non-executive director, Achim Loecher, has been appointed to replace Peden as chairman and company secretary, effective immediately.

The Insolvency Service

Richard Oirschot, Mary Chapman and William Trower QC have joined the board of the government's Insolvency Agency, with immediate effective.

Oirschot, an ICAEW chartered accountant and a member of the Institute for Turnaround, has many years' experience in corporate recovery including as a director of business turnaround for Barclays Venture, and as director of corporate recovery for PKF. He has also held senior roles at UHY Hacker Young and Smith & Williamson, after training at Grant Thornton.

Chapman, currently council member and chair of the audit committee for the Archbishops’ Council of the Church of England, has held many non-profit and public sector governance positions including the chair of the Institute of Customer Service, as a commissioner of the National Lottery Commission, as chief executive of the Chartered Management Institute and as chief executive of Investors in People UK.

Trower, deputy high court judge (chancery division) and former member of the Insolvency Rules Committee, has a financial and commercial practice including corporate restructuring and insolvency.


Steve Wilderspin has been appointed a non-executive director of the private equity and financial services firm, also effective immediately.

Wilderspin, an ICAEW chartered accountant, has been principal of Wilderspin Independent Governance since 2007. Prior to this he held a number of senior roles in private equity including as director of Saville Assessment, Praemium and Maples Finance Jersey. Wilderspin trained as a chartered accountant at Big Four firm PwC, where he spent almost six years.