Julia irvine 3 Jan 2018 08:13am

New year honours for accountants, politicians and taxmen

Ed Troup, the recently retired executive chairman of HMRC has been awarded a knighthood in the New Year’s honours list, for his public service to taxpayers and the tax system

He stepped down from the role after five years at the department, during which time he was tax assurance commissioner, head of former business group Central Tax and Strategy, and head of profession. He took over as chair of HMRC’s board in April 2016.

His job has gone to Jim Harra who was previously HMRC’s tax assurance commissioner and director general customer for strategy and tax design.

Troup is among a group of people both in the accountancy profession and connected to it who received awards. Jo Swinson, who for a while was in charge of the profession as a junior minister in what was then the Department of Business, Innovation and Skills, and is now deputy leader of the LibDems, receives a CBE for political and public service; Cheryl Gillan, MP for Chesham and Amersham, who once worked for Arthur Young (now EY), becomes a dame for the same reason.

Sarah Churchman, PwC’s head of diversity, inclusion and employee wellbeing, is awarded an OBE in recognition of her work in establishing PwC’s diversity and inclusion team 15 years ago and spearheading its efforts to drive greater diversity throughout the firm.

Commenting on her award, PwC chairman Kevin Ellis said, “Sarah's passion, energy and commitment to driving awareness and change has been instrumental in PwC’s publication of gender and BAME pay gap data.

“Sarah’s influence on the professional services sector and beyond has led to many policies and practices that promote inclusion, making this award richly deserved.”

Among the 1,123 people mentioned in the lists were a number of current ICAEW members. CBEs went to Nigel Mills, co-founder and chairman of the Lakes distillery, for services to entrepreneurship in the North East and Cumbria, to Elizabeth Dymond, director at The Charity for Civil Servants, for public service, and to Robert Swannell, non-executive chairman of UK Government Investment and one time chairman of Marks & Spencer, for services to the public, retail and financial sectors.

Peter Stebbings, until recently East of England regional chairman of the Conservative Party, was awarded an OBE for voluntary political service in the East of England, while Paul Taiano, chair of governors, Royal Central School of Speech and Drama, received one for services to drama training and horse racing welfare.

Martin Cooke, co founder of the Chester Summer Music Festival, who spends his free time helping charities, managing his local village website and running Cornwall’s oldest music festival, receives an MBE for services to the arts and the community in Chester, Tattenhall and North Cornwall.

MBEs also go to Allan Reid for services to the community in Winchester, Hampshire, to Emma Smith, head of operations at the National Crime Agency, for services to tackling economic crime, and to Janet Woodroffe for voluntary and charitable services in Wistanstow, South Shropshire.

Adrian Jacobs, who volunteers for Police Liaison at Metropolitan Police Service, received a British Empire Medal for services to interfaith relations and the community in the London Borough of Barnet.

Finally, former ICAEW member John Nelson, recently retired chairman of Lloyd’s of London, got a CBE for services to the global promotion of British business and to diversity in the workplace.