Danny McCance 25 Jul 2019 10:18am

Javid as chancellor in Cabinet reshuffle

Prime minister Boris Johnson has named Sajid Javid as chancellor as part of a dramatic cabinet reshuffle

Former chancellor Philip Hammond yesterday tendered his resignation after three years in the role, having previously stated he refused to serve as chancellor under Johnson due to differences on Brexit policy.

 Javid, MP for Bromsgrove, was most recently home secretary under Theresa May.

He has held a number of ministerial positions including as economic secretary to the Treasury and financial secretary. He was secretary of state for Business, Innovation and Skills (BEIS) in 2016.

Andrea Leadsom has been appointed as BEIS secretary.

MP for South Northamptonshire, Leadsom was most recently lord president f the council and leader of the House of Commons, having previously held a number of ministerial positions inkling as economic secretary to the Treasury. She was also a member of the Public Accounts Committee between 2017 and 2019.

Leadsom has previously expressed support for policies on lowering taxes, a platform favoured by Johnson.

During the leadership contest the prime minister’s two flagship tax proposals included increasing the income tax higher rate threshold and raising the point at which people start paying national insurance contributions.

Chartered accountant Alok Sharma has also been selected as a member of the new cabinet as secretary of state for International Development.

Sharma, MP for Reading west, was formerly minister of state for the Department for Work and Pensions and minister of state for communities an local government, as well as a previously being a member of the Treasury Committee.

Alongside these appointments Priti Patel has been appointed as home secretary; Dominic Raab as foreign secretary; Stephen Barclay as Brexit secretary; Michael Gove as chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster; Ben Wallace as defence secretary; Elizabeth Truss as trade secretary; Matt Hancock as health secretary; Theresa Villiers as environment secretary; Gavin Williamson as education secretary; Nicky Morgan as culture secretary; Robert Jenrick as housing secretary; Amber Rudd as pensions secretary; Robert Buckland as justice secretary; Grant Shapps as transport secretary; Alun Cairns as Wales secretary; Julian Smith as Northern Ireland secretary and Alister Jack as Scotland secretary.