Julia Irvine 11 Jun 2019 12:04pm

ICAEW appoints independent directors

ICAEW has appointed two independent non-executive directors to its board.

They are broadcast journalist Mary Hockaday, who is currently controller of the BBC World Service English, and corporate lawyer Malcolm Wood, who retires at the end of this month as group company secretary of Lloyds Banking Group.

The pair will bring independence of thought and diversity of ideas from a non-member perspective to the board and will help ICAEW achieve its strategic objectives.

Hockaday is responsible for World Service English’s editorial strategy and for commissioning and scheduling contributions from BBC News and other departments. She is a senior leader in broadcasting with a developing portfolio relating to education. During her career, she has held a number of senior editorial and leadership positions within the BBC and she is no stranger to multi-million pound budgets, large departments, high pressure and regulatory and public scrutiny.

ICAEW describes her as “a highly resilient leader with strong values who marries strategic thinking with innovation leadership”. “She cares about everyone’s right to good information and education and ensuring high professional standards and she’s always interested in respecting an organisation’s heritage while innovating in the context of a fast-changing world.”

Wood brings with him a wealth of experience in governance, policy and regulation from his career as a corporate lawyer in London and Edinburgh, his role as general counsel and company secretary of Standard Life and his time at Lloyds Banking Group. As group company secretary, he not only reports to the chairman and chief executive and attends the exco and board meetings, and has particular responsibility for group governance and the relationship with Lloyds’ two million plus shareholders.

He is a fellow of the Institute of Chartered Secretaries and Administrators, a member of the Corporate Governance Council and the GC100.

Their appointments are for a two-year period, but are renewable. Both started on 4 June.